Customer v Telstra

Thought that whilst I am sitting here on hold thought I should take this opportunity to detail the adventures of yet another attempted telephone conversation with Telstra. It is ironic that Telstra who are the main providers of telecommunications are unable to run an effective call centre setup, with the customer in mind.

Over the years for numerous service issues the job of contacting Telstra has been left to me. Before everyone says change carriers well I would except in rural Australia they offer the best coverage. Today I rang to get the customer service guarantee applied as my landline wasn’t fixed within 2 business days.

So I rang and spent 45 minutes playing the game of asking, “I would like the customer service guarantee applied to my account please as it wasn’t repaired within 2 working days”. Being verified for my identity and then the operator putting me on hold. Operator comes back and says, ” I just need to transfer you and they will be able to help you.” Only to be speaking to someone who doesn’t have any of your information and you get to start again.

So the above scenario was repeated 6 times in 45 minutes, and then the call was transfered and eventually rang out. I did wait on the line and pressed 2 to indicate that my inquiry was not resolved. Then I was asked how satisfied with the call so I responded with Unsatisfied but then the call was terminated. Guess they didn’t want the bad feedback.

Feeling a bit gallant thought I would give it one more try… got another call centre and based on the formal language being used, they were overseas, he did the whole verify thing and put me on hold. This guy was a bit better he kept telling me he had done his research, hope he wasn’t looking at the street signs above his desk to try and research this irate woman from Down Under.

He tried to transfer me to the department he assured me could help me, this would be the CSG Processing team, but the transfer never worked, I was left listening to a ringing phone and then the old fashioned engaged tone. The second call took just over 18 minutes and still no result. Oh well I really shouldn’t be surprised, I am dealing with Telstra. Maybe tomorrow I will have success.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers

