Fantasy land still crumbling

Well I have been a responsible adult and thus I feel I am loosing any chance I thought I had of retreating to fantasy land. Yesterday I was enjoying day-dreaming about my fantasy land, then last night I was brought crashing back to reality.

When you feel unwell, as I currently do now (thanks to putting myself on a high does antibiotic and back on the pill), sympathy, love, attention, caring from your significant other is what one craves. Alas I received the “there there you’ll be alright”, tap tap on the shoulder. No real concern, or can I get you anything, is there anything I can do?

Can someone please explain to me why men (in particular) don’t seem to understand the importance of being proactive when they have a sick partner? Is it that they are wired differently or do I just pick the ones that don’t have a clue? After all these years, and it has been a significant number, he hasn’t changed. I know you can’t make a leopard change it’s spots but I thought that eventually I would be able to get him to see logic. Partner sick – take up the slack!

Now I am not sick, take me to hospital or doctor sick, I am “sick” due to the high doses of medication I am subjecting myself to. I am “sick” because I haven’t had more than 1 week to myself to do nothing for the last 5 years. I am “sick” because working full time, studying 52 weeks a year and running at least one, sometimes 2 businesses is exhausting. For 3 years I haven’t had a break from study / work / business and I have had enough. I am “sick” because all I wanted was for you to find that fluid stuff you put in cars for the steering and you told me to go to a shop.

So I have a friend who I am waiting to respond to my SMS, but because of aforementioned medication, female problems are now plaguing me, and I am not great company. I was looking forward to an evening of mentally stimulating conversation, laughs and fun. Guess that ain’t going to happen either…. farewell to fantasy land, hello reality, time to be an adult a bit longer and get on with the daily druge of life.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 14 other followers

